The Planner : : turns 34!

Yesterday was a big day, I turned 34. Yes, that’s exactly what you heard, 34! You ask yourself “Where is she going with this?”  I recently received an inquiry from a follower having second thoughts about her career choice and it started to make me rethink some of my goals and paths that I’m taking.

When I was younger I had my entire life all mapped out. I would be this successful business woman (I believe I was going to be a lawyer), with 2 kids (a boy first to defend his little sister) with a wonderful husband in a perfect house with a white picket fence. Sounds perfect, no? Well guess what? I am nowhere near this life. Your goals change along the way due to many factors such as finances, economy changes, lost loves, etc…

I decided myself on a career change only a few years ago. I had been working in the financial industry as a project manager for nearly 10 years when I decided to take a leap of faith and become a wedding/event planner. It was a tough decision and still presents challenges every single day. When you work a 9 to 5 office job every day there is a certain sense of financial security and comfort.  However, when you decide to work for yourself, which in my case as a wedding and event planner, you never know when your next paycheck will be. You work just as hard as when you work that 9 to 5, the only difference is you don’t have that paycheck deposited into your account automatically every Thursday morning. There are pros and cons to both jobs. For me this is where I want to be and what I want to do. I also think that now as opposed to 10 or 15 years ago is a way better time for me to have made this change. Because although I may not have met all the goals I had mapped out above, I’m in a way better place. I live in a great apartment along the water with a great guy that has been so supportive of my sudden career restructuring. What more could I ask for at this time. I wouldn’t change the 10 years working in finance and I will always have that experience to fall back on. I wouldn’t change the loves lost because it would mean that I wouldn’t have met the love of my life.

As I sit here eating my birthday cake for breakfast, (it’s my cake and I’ll eat it too, thank you very much!!!) I am writing a new list of goals I want to attain in the next year before I turn 35 which is a milestone birthday. I may or may not accomplish all of them but I will be proud of every single one I do. I strive to be the best wedding planner but I will learn to accept that I’m not always perfect (OK this is a work in progress).

Happy birthday to me!

Max xoxo

3 thoughts on “The Planner : : turns 34!

  1. Pingback: Reserve the Date Events : : 2012 wrap-up | Reserve the Date :: the Blog

leave some love

